Hue Thrill Me | Hunter Green

The other day I was struck by the color of the kidney beans mixed in my salad for dinner. I’m no bean-hugger, but the deep burgundy was out of this world. Last night the rich, black olives on my pizza made me swoon.

I find myself pulling over on the side of the road to snap images of sheer, pink flowers against bright, green leaves because I can’t get enough of the contrast. I even toss a slice of lemon and lime in my navy and white water bottle because the palette is fresh, and I swear the color, perhaps even more than the taste, makes me want to stay more hydrated. Although I do love me some sour citrus.

However weird my current color obsession is, I thought I’d use it to kick off a weekly segment over here, Hue Thrill Me, allowing me to creatively mix palettes that I’d otherwise never consider.

As you might have guessed, green remains my go-to hue, so I’m starting there. According to Pantone, Emerald is lively, radiant and lush, and I can’t help but agree. It’s glamorous and elegant, but grounded. Someday I’m hoping for an emerald all my own.

But lately for me it’s a toss-up between Emerald and Hunter green, and since Hunter feels more like fall, today it’s all about Emerald’s earthy, mysterious cousin. You’ll see, Emerald ends up making a cameo here and there too.

Here are a few of my pins, some old, some new, that are continuing to make me fall in love with the the kissing cousins every day.

huethrillme1-hunter2

*Images – Row 1 | DSW Mix No. 6 Samperi Tassel Cross Body Bag via Clementine DailyFresh Flower Pendant Light DIY – Paper & Stitch; Row 2 | dark green velvet pumps from & Other Stories

huethrillme1-hunter1

Row 1 | Pellegrino place cards via Martha Stewart Weddings; The Garden Collection via these woods; Row 2 | Oh Joy’s Studio – The ‘Living Room’ via Emily Henderson; fiddle-leaf fig tree in Weimer Hall College of Journalism and Communications at the University of Florida by me

huethrillme1-hunter3

Row 1 | Harriet wears the High Street at London Fashion Week via Elle UKSusanah Erskine at London Fashion Week 2013 via Vanessa Jackman; 1970s vienna & olive pumps via Concetta’s Closet – Etsy; Row 2 | green skirt via unknown; Green canvas baby shoes with gold brogued leather via ajalor – Etsy

What hue is thrilling you?

P.S. The attributed links above are linked back to their original blogs, websites, Etsy shops, etc. if possible. This is not necessarily where I repinned them from, but I am doing so in an effort to give credit to original content creators. Please pass it on and give credit where it is due as well. Feel free to pin away!

Leave a Reply

